orchester.ch is the umbrella association of Swiss professional orchestras.

We represent the interests of our members in respect of fulfilling their diverse remits as musical institutions and also in respect of their activities as orchestral sponsors and/or concert organizers. We are committed to the preservation of professional orchestras as we know them today, and to their development to ensure a top-class orchestral culture in this country.

We see our overriding task as promoting the contemporary, future-oriented communication of cultural values involving all current media forms, by assisting our members in preserving, developing and disseminating musical art forms. We do this by fostering collaboration and solidarity among our members, supporting coordination with national and international partners, and championing the interdisciplinary networking of professional Swiss orchestras.

Encouraging a broad musical education that is accessible to all social strata is particularly important to us.

We maintain an active dialogue in the Swiss and European cultural landscape and communicate openly with cultural practitioners, cultural mediators, the media and all social classes.

orchester.ch is a member of CULTURA: www.cultura.ch and of PEARLE*: www.pearle.ws/en

Organization chart

All the information on the Association’s organization can be found here.

Statutes

The Association’s statutes are available here in German, French and Italian.

Annual reports

An overview of the annual reports is available here in German and French.

2816

musicians

14

members

757

performances

86

world premieres

Our board

The board of orchester.ch consists of three to five members and is self-constituting. The President is elected by the Association’s assembly.

Some image
Toni J. Krein

President
Toni J. Krein

Toni J. Krein is a dramaturge and cultural mediator with extensive experience in the area of concerts and musical theatre. He has been Artistic Administrator of the Alte Oper in Frankfurt, a co-founder of the Frankfurt Feste and leading dramaturge at the Lucerne Theatre. He has worked for the composer Hans Werner Henze, and has been the Artistic Administrator of the Lucerne International Festival of Music (now the Lucerne Festival). He was subsequently chief executive and joint artistic director of European Music Month 2001 in Basel, and from 2002 until the end of 2011 he was Head of Corporate Cultural Sponsorship at Credit Suisse. He has been President of orchester.ch since December 2010. He sits on the boards of the Zurich Chamber Orchestra ZKO and the Lockenhaus Chamber Music Festival, and on the foundation council of the Davos Festival.

E-Mail: krein@orchester.ch

Some image
Samuel Roth

Samuel Roth
Director Musikkollegium Winterthur

Samuel Roth has been Director (overall head) of the Musikkollegium Winterthur since 2014. Founded in 1629, it is now one of Switzerland’s leading professional orchestras. A qualified solicitor with an Executive MBA from the University of St. Gallen, Samuel Roth was previously active in senior functions for the Zurich Opera House and the Theater Neumarkt.

E-Mail: S.Roth@musikkollegium.ch

Some image
Franziskus Theurillat

Vice-President
Franziskus Theurillat
Managing Director of the Sinfonieorchester Basel

Franziskus Theurillat has been director of the Basel Symphony Orchestra since 2000. In addition to his main profession he is engaged as a member of various foundation councils and as an independent lecturer and speaker. He received his musical training at the Basel Academy of Music – the cornet as a main discipline and the piano as a secondary discipline. In parallel with other musical studies in Stuttgart and Dresden, he studied business administration. In his early years as a cornet player he has performed in orchestras such as the Vienna Chamber Philharmonic, the SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden and Freiburg, the Basel Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Pierre Boulez, Heinz Holliger, Yehudi Menuhin, Armin Jordan, Mario Venzago among others. His solo and chamber musician activities have led him to many countries in Europe, Asia and South America.

E-Mail: f.theurillat@sinfonieorchesterbasel.ch

Some image
Florian Scheiber

Florian Scheiber
Concert Director of the Sinfonieorchester St. Gallen
Konzert und Theater St. Gallen

Florian Scheiber was born in Togo, West Africa, in 1968. After completing his studies for the diploma in “Languages, Economic and Cultural Studies” at the University of Passau, he first worked as orchestral manager of the pan-European Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra, founded by Claudio Abbado, which is based in Vienna. After five years’ experience in Vienna managing an international youth orchestra that frequently toured in Europe, the USA and Cuba, Florian Scheiber joined the three-genre theatre in Münster, North Germany, as the director of the city’s symphony orchestra – his first professional orchestral management post. Florian Scheiber has been concert director of the Sinfonieorchester St. Gallen since 2004.

E-Mail: F.Scheiber@sinfonieorchestersg.ch

Some image
Dieter Kaegi

Dieter Kaegi
Artistic Director of the  Theater Orchester Biel Solothurn

Attended schools and university in Zurich. Held permanent posts as Assistant Director and Evening Supervisor at the Zurich Opera House, English National Opera and Deutsche Oper am Rhein, Assistant to the Artistic Director of the Opéra de Monte-Carlo, Production Manager at the Aix-en-Provence Festival, Artistic Director of Opera Ireland – and since 2013 Artistic Director of TOBS (Theater Orchester Biel Solothurn). Since 2016 he has sat on the committees of the Union of Swiss Theatres (UST) and orchester.ch.

E-Mail: Dieter.Kaegi@TOBS.ch

Some image
Roman Steiner

Roman Steiner
Managing Director

Managing director of the Union of Swiss Theatres (UST) since 1 December 2016, Roman Steiner has also been managing director of orchester.ch since 1 September 2017. A solicitor and legal expert, Steiner previously spent thirteen years with the legal service of the Education and Culture Department of the canton of Lucerne, where he was the department’s deputy secretary. He has for many years been active in an honorary capacity in the cultural field – as a member of the board of Fumetto, Lucerne’s International Comic Festival, for example. From 2010 until April 2017 he was President of the association that supports Lucerne’s Südpol centre for the performing arts.

E-mail: steiner@orchester.ch

Gibraltarstrasse 24
CH - 6003 Lucerne

1. Drop us a line!

info@orchester.ch

2. Give us a call!

+41 31 311 62 65

3. Come and see us

Association of Swiss Professional Orchestras,
Gibraltarstrasse 24, CH 6003 Lucerne

orchester.ch ist der Dachverband der Schweizer Berufsorchester.

Wir vertreten die Interessen unserer Mitglieder in Bezug auf die Erfüllung ihrer vielfältigen Aufgaben als Musikinstitution sowie auf ihre Tätigkeit als Orchesterträger und/oder Konzertveranstalter. Wir setzen uns ein für die Bewahrung von Berufsorchestern im heutigen Sinne und für deren Entwicklung zur Sicherstellung einer hochwertigen Orchesterkultur in diesem Land.

Als übergeordnete Aufgabe sehen wir es, eine zeitgemässe, zukunftsorientierte, alle Formen der heutigen Medien einbeziehende Vermittlung von Kulturwerten zu fördern, indem wir unsere Mitglieder darin unterstützen, Kunstformen im musikalischen Bereich zu bewahren, zu entwickeln und zu verbreiten. Wir tun dies, indem wir die Zusammenarbeit und Solidarität unter den Mitgliedern fördern, die Koordination mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern unterstützen und für eine interdisziplinäre Vernetzung der professionellen Schweizer Orchesterlandschaft eintreten.

Die Förderung einer umfassenden und allen Bevölkerungsschichten zugänglichen Musikerziehung ist uns ein besonders Anliegen.

Wir führen einen aktiven Diskurs in der schweizerischen und europäischen
Kulturlandschaft und pflegen eine offene Kommunikation mit Kulturschaffenden, Kulturvermittlern, Medien und allen Gesellschaftsschichten.

orchester.ch ist Mitglied von CULTURA: www.cultura.ch. und von PEARLE* www.pearle.ws/en

Organigramm

Alle Informationen zur Organisation des Verbandes finden Sie hier.

Statuten

Die Statuten des Vereins stehen hier zum Download bereit.

Jahresberichte

Eine Übersicht über alle Jahresberichte steht hier zur Verfügung.

4018

Musiker

14

Mitglieder

1051

Aufführungen

33

Uraufführungen

Unser Vorstand

Der Vorstand von orchester.ch besteht aus drei bis fünf Mitglieder und konstituiert sich selbst. Die Wahl des Präsidenten erfolgt durch die Vereinsversammlung.

Some image
Toni J. Krein

Präsident
Toni J. Krein

Toni J. Krein ist Dramaturg und Kulturvermittler mit weitreichender Erfahrung im Bereich Konzert- und Musiktheater. Er war künstlerischer Betriebsdirektor der Alten Oper Frankfurt, Mitbegründer der Frankfurt Feste, leitender Dramaturg am Luzerner Theater. Er hat für den Komponisten Hans Werner Henze gearbeitet, war Leiter des Künstlerischen Büros der Internationalen Musikfestwochen Luzern (heute Lucerne Festival). Danach war er Geschäftsführer und künstlerischer Co-Leiter des Europäischen Musikmonats 2001 in Basel und wirkte von 2002 bis Ende 2011 als Leiter des Kultursponsorings der Credit Suisse. Seit Dezember 2010 ist er Präsident von orchester.ch. Daneben engagiert er sich u.a. im Vorstand des Zürcher Kammerorchester ZKO und beim Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus sowie im Stiftungsrat des Davos Festival.

E-Mail: krein@orchester.ch

Some image
Samuel Roth

Samuel Roth
Direktor Musikkollegium Winterthur

Samuel Roth ist seit 2014 Direktor (Gesamtleiter) des Musikkollegiums Winterthur. Dieses wurde 1629 gegründet und ist heute eines der führenden Schweizer Berufsorchester. Davor war Samuel Roth, ausgebildeter Rechtsanwalt und Executive MBA HSG, in leitenden Funktionen für das Opernhaus Zürich und das Theater Neumarkt tätig.

E-Mail: S.Roth@musikkollegium.ch

Some image
Franziskus Theurillat

Vizepräsident
Franziskus Theurillat
Direktor Sinfonieorchester Basel

Franziskus Theurillat ist seit 2000 Geschäftsleiter des Sinfonieorchesters Basel. Neben seiner hauptberuflichen Tätigkeit wirkt er auch als freier Dozent und Referent und ist Stiftungsratsmitglied einiger Förderstiftungen. Seine musikalische Ausbildung im Hauptfach Horn und Klavier im Nebenfach hat er an der Musik-Akademie in Basel erhalten. Parallel zu weiterführenden musikalischen Studien in Stuttgart und Dresden, absolvierte er ein Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Als Hornist spielte er während seiner ersten Berufsjahren in Orchestern wie der Wiener Kammerphilharmonie, dem SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg, dem Sinfonieorchester Basel, unter Dirigenten wie Pierre Boulez, Heinz Holliger, Yehudi Menuhin, Armin Jordan, Mario Venzago u.v.m.. Solistische und kammermusikalische Tätigkeiten führten ihn in viele Länder Europas, Asiens und Südamerikas.

E-Mail: f.theurillat@sinfonieorchesterbasel.ch

Some image
Florian Scheiber

Florian Scheiber
Konzertdirektor Sinfonieorchester St. Gallen
Konzert und Theater St. Gallen

Florian Scheiber wurde 1968 in Togo/Westafrika geboren. Nach Absolvierung des Diplomstudiengangs „Sprachen, Wirtschafts- und Kulturraumstudien“ an der Universität Passau arbeitete er zunächst als Orchestermanager des von Claudio Abbado gegründeten gesamteuropäischen Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters mit Sitz in Wien. Nach fünf Jahren in Wien und zahlreichen Tourneen durch Europa, in die USA und Kuba ging Florian Scheiber als Orchestergeschäftsführer zum Sinfonieorchester Münster nach Norddeutschland an ein Drei-Sparten-Theater, wo er nach der Erfahrung eines internationalen Jugendorchesters das Orchestermanagement eines professionellen Kulturorchesters übernahm. Seit 2004 ist Florian Scheiber Konzertdirektor des Sinfonieorchesters St. Gallen.

E-Mail: f.scheiber@sinfonieorchestersg.ch

Some image
Dieter Kaegi

Dieter Kaegi
Intendant Theater Orchester Biel Solothurn

Schulen und Studium in Zürich. Feste Anstellungen als Regieassistent und Abendspielleiter am Opernhaus Zürich, English National Opera und Deutsche Oper am Rhein, Assistent des Intendanten der Opéra de Monte-Carlo, Produktionsleiter am Festival Aix-en-Provence, künstlerischer Direktor der Opera Ireland und seit 2013 Intendant von TOBS ( Theater Orchester Biel Solothurn ). Seit 2016 Ausschussmitglied des schweizerischen Bühnenvereins (SBV) und orchester.ch.

E-Mail: Dieter.Kaegi@TOBS.ch

Some image
Roman Steiner

Roman Steiner
Geschäftsführer

Roman Steiner ist seit 1. September 2017 Geschäftsführer von orchester.ch und seit 1. Dezember 2016 Geschäftsführer vom Schweizerischen Bühnenverband SBV. Zuvor leitete der Jurist und Rechtsanwalt während sieben Jahren den Rechtsdienst des Bildungs- und Kulturdepartements des Kantons Luzern und war stellvertretender Departementssekretär. Er engagiert sich seit vielen Jahren ehrenamtlich für die Kultur u.a. als Vorstandsmitglied von Fumetto – Internationales Comic Festival Luzern und er war von 2010 bis April 2017 Präsident des Vereins Südpol Luzern.

E-Mail: steiner@orchester.ch

author: Roman Steiner. April 3, 2018.
Melde deinen Beitrag an
author: Roman Steiner. April 3, 2018.
OSI gewinnt beim International Classical Music Award (ICMA) 2018
author: Toni J. Krein. Januar 17, 2018.
Aufruf der Kulturschaffenden gegen No Billag
author: orchester.ch. November 21, 2017.
Nein zu «No Billag»

1. Schreiben Sie uns!

info@orchester.ch

2. Rufen Sie uns an!

+41 31 311 62 65

3. Besuchen Sie uns

Verband Schweizerischer Berufsorchester,
Gibraltarstrasse 24, CH 6003 Luzern